top of page

Who am I and why have I started Amiga for Mortals?

Updated: Feb 15, 2021

Hi I'm Andrew. I'm just a regular guy (and a bit of a geek) who is into retro gaming and computers.

The Amiga is a machine that has a special meaning to me, having been my first computer as a kid. Regrettably that original computer is long gone, and I can't for the life of me remember when or why I parted with it. Therefore it seemed somewhat inevitable that I would find a way back into Amiga ownership at some point and this is where I now find myself.


Having recently ventured back into the world of Amiga, I have a few projects on the go. Whilst researching online and looking for guides to help with my projects, I found that a lot of the information out there seemed to assume a level of background experience and knowledge that was above my own. This led to some frustrations, where I was unable to get things working.


There are some great resources out there that have helped me on my way as well as an amazing online community. I therefore wanted to help add to that in a way that would support others like myself who don't have the same level of knowledge and experience of some other content creators and members of the community.


Hence Amiga for Mortals was born.


I intend to share videos and guides created by others that have helped and inspired me along my journey, but I will also be posting original content documenting my own Amiga projects and I will aim to write these in the most simple language that I can so that anyone can follow it. My plan is to publish at least one original post a week.


The projects that I plan to start with are as follows:

- Amiga 500+

- Amiga 600

- Raspberry Pi Amiga


You will see more on these projects over the coming weeks and months and I hope to add to this list in the future. I have my eyes peeled for an Amiga 1200 and a CD32, although prices currently seem to be booming and I can't justify having too many projects going on at once.


I hope that this blog is of interest and assistance to people, but if not, it will at least serve as a place where I can record the progress on my Amiga projects.


If you have enjoyed reading this blog, please do like, comment and subscribe below.

446 views
New AFM Logo (1).png

ABOUT ME

I’m Andrew, I stream Amiga games on real hardware and using a CRT as my main monitor (I have a second webcam so you can see my set-up).

Although I had an Amiga back in the day, I was just a kid, so there are loads of games that I never played and I'm now getting to enjoy them for the first time.

SOCIALS 

  • New Project (4)
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter

DONATE

If you would like to support what I am doing and make a donation, please use the button below.

SUBSCRIBE 

If you would like to receive updates when I post new content please subscribe below.

Thanks for submitting!

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page